CyberPatriot VI Teams Recognized

MVCS CyberPatriot VI teams, from left to right, 2d Lt Joseph Murphy (Mentor),  C/SMSgt Benjamin Geiss (Team Captain), C/SrA Austin Croy,C/MSgt Michael Jurkoic, C/Capt James Hildebrand (Team Captain), C/Capt Nicholas Johnson, C/1st Lt Thomas Murphy, C/MSgt Alexander Johnson, Lt Col Jonathan Fry(Mentor).  Not pictured:  C/CMSgt Gabriel Abbe, Cadet Jacob Pitoniak, C/SrA Joseph Abbe. Photo by 2d Lt. Mark Patrick.

Two teams from Mount Vernon Composite Squadron participated in three rounds of CyberPatriot competition in late 2013.  The squadron commander, 1st Lt Kevin Geiss recognized their outstanding performance by presenting them with commemorative coins at a squadron meeting on January 23, 2014.

2d Lt Joe Murphy, one of the teams’ mentors, described the competition to cadets and senior members present.  He stated that the teams participated in a warm-up round in September 2013, and subsequent rounds in October and early December.  Although the teams did not advance to the final round, they will compete at a competition sponsored by the Commonwealth of Virginia in late February.

CyberPatriot is the premier national high school cyber defense competition created by the Air Force Association to inspire high school students toward careers in cyber security or other science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) disciplines critical to our nation’s future.

This dynamic 6.5 minute video provides a great overview of CyberPatriot VI and how the competition has evolved.